Squeezy - Pedro is back
THE BITING FISH IS BACK

NEW PRODUCTS AND BRAND ALIGNMENT

Pedro (Piranha) accompanied us as our mascot from 2000 to 2009. Many people still remember the mascot in their jersey pockets. Now we are celebrating his comeback on the new packaging and in communications. But above all, Pedro brings a new way of thinking, because Squeezy is becoming a sustainable brand. How this works and how we want to integrate you into this process, you can read here ...

The transformation of Squeezy

When Squeezy saw the light of day in 1987, the Montreal Protocol dominated the daily newspapers. A multilateral agreement to protect the ozone layer. To this day, the agreement, which came into force in 1989, is considered a milestone in environmental protection.

A long time until today - 2021. Many things have happened in terms of environmental protection, but as we all know today, by far not enough and so today it is not the ozone layer that causes us all headaches, but mainly global warming, microplastics in the oceans, dwindling forests and air pollution.

Packaging materials are part of the problem, and as the manufacturer of the world's oldest sports nutrition brand Squeezy, we are well aware of that. With measures such as our gel refillers and the reusable gel drinking bottles, we offered solutions early on that have endured to this day.

As cyclists and also runners, however, we are also aware of the problems with packaging waste, which are more evident than ever at major events:

It's too much! And it's the wrong material!

And although mankind is able to send robots to Mars and medical technology has made incredible progress in record time, it is extremely difficult today, as it was more than 30 years ago, to offer sports nutrition according to the most holistic approach possible.

The packaging material alone presents us as a manufacturer with real challenges together with our partners. Unfortunately, not everything can be in ecologically sound (mono) packaging. If acids are involved, many materials are rejected or the product shelf life drops to a minimum that is not tolerated by the customer.

In 2020, we began drawing up concepts to convert our new products to a fully sustainable range in several steps as part of a brand relaunch. This planning is now well advanced and, in addition to new products, there have also been initial results since fall 2021, such as cans made of sugar cane, gels in recyclable monofoils from March 2022, uncoated labels, or, in a little-noticed area, significant optimizations in the repackaging of raw materials. Not everything we would like to implement directly is already possible, and the pandemic situation has unfortunately exacerbated this. It doesn't change anything - we are in the midst of arguably the most fundamental change Squeezy has ever faced. Let's get it done!

Be part of it ...

Transparency is very important to us. That's why we want you to be part of Squeezy's transformation. We will disclose our ideas, difficulties and planning processes via social media, share problems with you and listen to you. Let's talk openly about what you want to have, whether it's directly on the product or the packaging.

Discuss with us via Facebook or by mail.

NEWS

All themes Squeezy goes Green

The Squeezy goes Green - Project - the whole story ...

About a year and a half ago, we set to work rethinking the Squeezy brand. Products, design, packaging, logistics, team, concept - everything. A lot has already happened behind the scenes, a lot is in the pipeline and much, much more is still to be planned and implemented. [...]

Read now

Squeezy goes Green

Squeezy Energy Fruit Gums 2021

In the case of Squeezy Energy Fruit Gums, which will be available from around mid-September, we have carried out a complete redevelopment.

Read now

Squeezy goes Green

Basic Formula - the modular energy drink from Squeezy

Finally variety in the drink bottle! With Squeezy Energy Drink Basic Formula we present our modular concept for your absolute favorite drink during sports!

Read now

Squeezy goes Green

Squeezy 2021: More info on sustainability, product design and Pedro

From now on, we want to update you here and especially on our Facebook presence and Instagram as often as possible, show sneak previews of products and packaging and launch promotions.

Read now

Squeezy goes Green

Squeezy 2021 - new design, new products, new tastes ...

We have been working on a whole series of innovations under the Squeezy brand for some time now. First and foremost, a completely new corporate design with fresh colors and an old acquaintance who left us a little over 10 years ago and is now back on board ...

Read now

Squeezy - Pedro is back
DER BISSIGE FISCH IST ZURÜCK

NEUE PRODUKTE UND MARKENAUSRICHTUNG

Pedro (Piranha) hat uns von 2000 bis 2009 als Maskottchen begleitet. Viele erinnern sich noch heute an den beissfreudigen Kollegen in der Trikottasche. Nun feiern wir sein Comeback auf den neuen Verpackungen und in der Kommunikation. Vor allem aber kommt mit Pedro ein Umdenken, denn Squeezy wird zur nachhaltigen Marke. Wie das funktioniert und wie wir Euch in diesen Prozess integrieren wollen, liest Du hier …

Die Transformation von Squeezy

Als Squeezy 1987 das Licht der Welt erblickt, beherrscht das Montrealer Protokoll die Tageszeitungen. Ein multilaterales Übereinkommen zum Schutz der Ozonschicht. Bis heute gilt das 1989 in Kraft getretene Übereinkommen als Meilenstein im Umweltschutz.

Eine lange Zeit bis heute – 2021. Passiert sind viele Dinge in Sachen Umweltschutz, wie wir heute aber alle wissen, bei weitem nicht genug und so ist es heute auch nicht die Ozonschicht die uns allen Kopfzerbrechen bereitet, sondern vor allem die Klimaerwärmung, Mikroplastik in den Meeren, schwindende Wälder und die Luftverschmutzung.

Verpackungsmaterialien sind Teil des Problems, das ist uns als Hersteller der weltweit ältesten Sports Nutrition Marke Squeezy bewusst. Mit Maßnahmen wie unseren Gel-Refillern und den wiederverwendbaren Gel-Trinkflaschen haben wir schon früh Lösungen angeboten, die bis heute Bestand haben.

Als Radsportler und auch Läufer wissen wir aber auch um die Probleme mit Verpackungsmüll, die gerade auf Großveranstaltungen so deutlich werden wie sonst nie:

Es ist zu viel! Und es ist das falsche Material!

Und obwohl die Menschheit in der Lage ist Roboter auf den Mars zu schicken und in der Medizintechnik unfassbare Fortschritte in Rekordzeit zu verzeichnen sind, ist es heute wie auch vor über 30 Jahren überaus schwierig Sportnahrung nach einem möglichst holistischen Ansatz anzubieten.

Alleine das Verpackungsmaterial stellt uns als Hersteller mit unseren Partnern vor echte Herausforderungen. Denn leider lässt sich nicht alles in ökologisch einwandfreie (Mono-)Verpackungen abfüllen. Sind Säuren im Spiel, scheiden viele Materialien aus oder die Produkthaltbarkeit sinkt auf ein vom Kunden nicht toleriertes Minimum.

2020 haben wir begonnen Konzepte zu erstellen, um unsere neuen Produkte im Zuge eines Markenrelaunches in mehreren Schritten auf ein vollumfänglich nachhaltiges Sortiment umzustellen. Diese Planung ist inzwischen gut fortgeschritten und es gibt neben neuen Produkten seit Herbst 2021 auch erste Ergebnisse wie Dosen aus Zuckerrohr, ab März 2022 Gels in recycelbaren Monofolien, unbeschichtete Etiketten oder in einem wenig beachteten Bereich deutliche Optimierungen bei der Umverpackung von Rohstoffen. Nicht alles was wir gerne direkt umsetzen würden, ist bereits möglich und die pandemische Lage hat dies leider noch verstärkt.  Ändern tut das nichts – wir sind inmitten des wohl elementarsten Wandels, den Squeezy je vor Augen hatte. Packen wir es an!

Sei mit dabei …

Uns ist Transparenz sehr wichtig. Daher wollen wir, dass Du an der Transformation von Squeezy mitmachst. Wir werden unsere Ideen, Schwierigkeiten und Planungsprozesse per Social Media offenlegen, Probleme mit Euch teilen und Euch zuhören. Lasst uns darüber offen sprechen was Ihr haben wollt, egal ob direkt am Produkt oder der Verpackung.

Diskutiert mit uns über Facebook oder per Mail.

NEWS

Alle Themen Squeezy goes Green

Das Squeezy goes Green – Projekt – die ganze Geschichte …

Vor etwa anderthalb Jahren haben wir uns an die Arbeit gemacht die Marke Squeezy neu zu denken. Produkte, Design, Verpackungen, Logistik, Team, Konzept – einfach alles. Vieles ist hinter den Kulissen bereits passiert, eine Menge ist in der Pipeline und noch viel, viel mehr will noch geplant und umgesetzt werden. [...]

Jetzt lesen

Squeezy goes Green

Squeezy Energy Fruit Gums 2021

Bei den ab etwa Mitte September verfügbaren Squeezy Energy Fruit Gums haben wir eine komplette Neuentwicklung vollzogen. [...]

Jetzt lesen

Squeezy goes Green

Basic Formula – der modulare Energy Drink von Squeezy

Endlich Abwechslung in der Trinkflasche! Mit Squeezy Energy Drink Basic Formula präsentieren wir unser modulares Konzept für Dein absolutes Lieblingsgetränk beim Sport! [...]

Jetzt lesen

Squeezy goes Green

Squeezy 2021: Mehr Infos zu Nachhaltigkeit, Produktdesign und Pedro

Ab sofort wollen wir Euch an dieser Stelle und vor allem aber auf unserer Facebook-Präsenz sowie bei Instagram so oft es geht updaten, Sneak Previews von Produkten und Verpackungen zeigen und Aktionen starten. [...]

Jetzt lesen

Squeezy goes Green

Squeezy 2021 – neues Design, neue Produkte, neue Geschmäcker …

Nicht erst seit gestern arbeiten wir an einer ganzen Reihe Neuerungen unter dem Brand Squeezy. Allen voran ein komplett neues Corporate Design mit frischen Farben und einem alten Bekannten, der vor etwas mehr als 10 Jahren bei uns ausgezogen und nun wieder an Bord ist … [...]

Jetzt lesen